Ondo APC Primary: Akeredolu defeats Tinubu-backed aspirant, wins guber ticket

Against popular expectation, Mr. Rotimi Akeredolu, a former President of Nigeria Bar Association (NBA) has won the governorship election of the All Progressives Congress (APC), defeating Mr. Olusegun Abraham, the aspirant backed by the very influential National Leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, and 18 others.

Akeredolu was also the candidate of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), one of the parties that merged to form the APC, in the 2012 election.

Before the primary, Akeredolu had said the result of the exercise will shock the National Leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu,.

This assertion came to pass on Sunday morning at the International Event Centre (The Dome), Akure, the state capital venue of the exercise.

At exactly 12:45 am, the Chief Returning Officer of the primaries and Governor of Jigawa State, Mohammed Abubakar, announced that Akeredolu won the exercise with 669 votes. Abraham scored 635.

Below is the election result breakdown:

1. Rotimi Akeredolu 669 Votes
2. Segun Abraham 635 Votes
3. Olusola Oke 568 Votes
4. Tayo Alasoadura 206
5. Foluso Adefemi 13 Votes
6. Tunji Ariyomo – 2 Votes
7. Niyi Adegbomire 8 Votes
8. Ademola Adegoroye 0 votes
9. Derin Adesida 2 votes
10. Bukola Adetula 8 Votes

2774 delegates


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button